

Academic Senate Personnel & Elections Committee Reports & April 26 Elections

Academic Senate Meeting, April 26th, 2021



Current Committee Roster

Dale Larsen (Chair) **Amy Barrios** Kelly Bricker Susanna Cohen Sheila Crowell Ann Engar Amos Guiora Leslie Halpern Bill Hesterly Anna Hodgson Alexander Hyres Keith Koper **Rich Landward** Ken Monson Ed Muñoz Pearl Sandick Debra Simmons Elpitha Tsoutsounakis Brenda Van Der Wiel

Libraries Pharmacy Health Nursing Social & Behavioral Science **Qualified Interdisciplinary Teaching Programs** Law Dentistry **Business Humanities** Education Mines & Earth Sciences Social Work Engineering Cultural and Social Transformation Science Medicine Architecture + Planning **Fine Arts**



2020-2021 Academic Year Report

- The Senate Personnel & Elections Committee (P&E) coordinated interest surveys and nominations for 144 committee vacancies on 26 University and Senate Committees for AY 2021-2022
- Generated 225+ responses to this year's Faculty Committee Interest Survey
- Will oversee the Senate leadership elections, today, April 26
- Some committees have specific college requirements where there are still vacancies (*see upcoming slides*)

Academic Senator Faculty and CAD* Election Results 2021-22

*Council of Academic Deans

	Alessandre Digelen
College of Architecture & Planning	Alessandro Rigolon
	Michael Abrahamson
College of Education	Erin Castro
College of Engineering	Stacy Firth
College of Fine Arts	Melissa Bobick
	Lela Graybill
	Eric Handman
	Maggie Tesch
College of Humanities	Jay Jordan
	Erin Beeghly
	Najda Durbach
College of Nursing	Youjeong Kang
College of Pharmacy	Jaclyn Winter
	Peter West
College of Science	David Bowling
	Gina Frey
	Kenneth Bromberg
	Eugene Mishchenko
College of Social & Behavioral Science	Adrian Bell
College of Social Work	Jeremiah Jaggers
	Frank McAlpin
David Eccles School of Business	Jen Brown
	Mike Lewis
Libraries	Anna Neatrour
	Jessi Van Der Volgen,
S.J. Quinney College of Law	Nancy McLaughlin
School for Cultural & Social Transformation	Susie Porter
	Cindy Fierros
School of Dentistry	Melodie Weller
School of Medicine	Paul Shami
	Jessica Brown
	Luca Brunelli
	Yoshimi Anzai
Council of Academic Deans	Richard Brown



Senate Committee Elections Results, 2021 page 1 of 2 Senate Advisory Committee on Student Course Feedback Amber Bielinski, Fine Arts

Senate Advisory Committee on IT

Anna Neatrour, Libraries Phoebe McNeally, Social & Behavioral Science Eric Eide, Engineering Karl Schwede, Science

Senate Committee on Academic Freedom & Faculty Rights

Clifford Rosky, Law Lien Fan Shen, Fine Arts Zhaoxia Pu, Mines & Earth Sciences Caroline Stephens, Nursing Douglas Bergman, Science Linda Nguyen, Medicine Rong-Rong Chen, Engineering

Senate Advisory Committee on Academic Policy

Julie M Barkmeier-Kraemer, Medicine Claudia Geist, Cultural & Social Transformation Pedro Romero, Engineering Youjeong Kang, Nursing



Senate Committee Elections Results, 2021 page 2 of 2

Senate Consolidated Hearing Committee

Maureen Murtaugh, Medicine Amos Guiora, Law Leissa Roberts, Nursing Paul Jewell, Mines & Earth Sciences Massood Tabib-Azar, Engineering Amy Brunvand, Libraries Jim Ruble, Pharmacy Chris DuVal , Fine Arts Elizabeth Frakes, Libraries Robert J. Nelson, Libraries

Senate Faculty Review Standards Committee

Rong-Rong Chen, Engineering Timothy A. Brusseau, Health Mohammad Mirfakhrai, Libraries Howard Horwitz, Humanities

Senate Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

Dave Derezotes, Social Work Linda Nguyen, Medicine Sankara Subramanian Srinivasan, Business Valerie Flattes, Nursing



College-Specific Vacancies

Senate Personnel and Elections Committee Vacancies

-Social and Behavioral Science

-Pharmacy

-Science

Note: current Senators Can Serve on this Committee-even if in their last term.

Senate Faculty Review Standards Committee Vacancy

-Pharmacy



Senate Personnel & Elections Committee: Elections for April 26, 2021

1 Senate President-elect

3-year term

12 Senate Executive Committee 2020-2021 members

1-year term and must be a 2020-2021 Senator



Electronic Voting Instructions

1) Voting-eligible Senators require the private link to the electronic ballot. Check your emails from this morning or, if still needed, contact <u>David Hill</u> or <u>Paul Mogren</u> to have it re-sent.

2) If you have trouble accessing the electronic ballot online, as a last resort, there is a ballot in Word on the BoardDocs site4for this meeting. Email your filled-in ballot* to <u>Paul Mogren</u> or <u>David Hill</u>.

*Remember to identify yourself so to determine eligibility

3) After the President-elect candidates' statement, voting will open. You will have approximately 25-30 minutes to make your choices.

4) P&E Chair Dale Larsen, and Parliamentarian Paul Mogren will announce results at the end of this meeting.



Senate President-Elect Candidate, 2021-2022

Sonia Salari

College of Social and Behavioral Science



Senate Elections Contacts

David Hill <u>david.hill@law.utah.edu</u>

Paul Mogren paul.mogren@utah.edu