201 S. Presidents Circle, Rm. 115 Salt Lake City, Utah 84112 (801) 581-5203 FAX (801) 585-6812



From: Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Faculty Rights

Senate Executive Committee To:

Date: April 13, 2015

Re: Report of 2014-2015 Activities

Membership:

OF UTAH

Margaret F. Clayton (CoN), Craig Teerlink (SOM), Andrew Franta (Humanities), Patrick Panos (Social Work), Bob Allen (Business), Todd Kramer (Social/Behavioral Science), Felicity Murphy (Quinney Law Library), Zak Fang (Mines and Earth Sciences), Karen Gunning (Pharmacy), Karen Paisley (College of Health).

The Academic Freedom and Faculty Rights committee expresses opinions on alleged violations of the academic freedom or rights of individual colleagues, and advises the University on the revision and creation of University policies and procedures.

During the AY 2014-15 the Academic Freedom and Faculty Rights committee met in person once to receive our charge and address two faculty complaints. Over the course of the year we engaged in lively online discussion of two policies (Career Line faculty reappointment and Tenured faculty review) giving our feedback to the task force chair Hank Liese, Bob Flores and members of the executive committee. We also continued to review and revise the procedural flow of AFFR complaints and reaffirmed that our membership should include career line faculty.

Many discussions were held between the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Faculty Rights, Maureen Condic and Michael Cohen Ombudsmen, and Margaret Clayton for discussion about AFFR's potential role and/or collaboration with the University Ombudsmen. These culminated with two presentations to the executive committee and one presentation to the full senate with approval of AFFR complaint and guidance procedures.

Respectfully submitted;

Margaret F Clayton, PhD APRN

not Class

Chair, Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Faculty Rights