October 3, 2011

Oct 03 2011
View Agenda

Meeting Minutes


October 3, 2011


Call to Order

The regular meeting of the Academic Senate held on October 3, 2011, was called to order at 3:03 p.m. by Patricia Hanna, Senate President. The meeting was held in room 1150 Marriot Library.



Senators: Stephen Alder, Bob Allen, Lisa Aspinwall, Alexander M. Balk, Amanda Barusch, George Cassiday, Tully Cathey, Kathy Chapman, Kuan Chen, Kevin DeLuca, Tina Diekmann, Lee Dibble, Marianna Di Paolo, Richard Dorsky, Richard Ernst, Richard Forster, Sabine Fuhrmann, Robert Fujinami, Michael Gardner, Timothy Garrett, William M. Gershan, Franz Goller, Michael Goodman, Joan Gregory, Gary Grikscheit, Charles Grissom, Thad Hall, Rachel Hayes-Harb, Howard Horwitz, Eric Hutton, Thunder Jalili, William Johnson, Bradley J. Katz, Todd Kramer, Sharee Lane, Evert Lawton, Stephen Lessnick, Anthea Letsou, Karl Lins, Kim Martinez, Teri J. Mauch, Heather Melton, Duncan Metcalf, Joseph Metz, Allyson Mower, Dragan Milicic, Chris Myers, Arthur C. Nelson, Chris Pantelides, Lester Partlow, Martin Rechsteiner, Sean Redmond, Alison Regan, Andrea Rorrer, Gary Rose, Sonia Salari, Janet Shaw, Clough Shelton, Gregory Smoak, Jeff Stratman, Orest Symko, David Viskochil, Norm Waitzman, Margaret Wan, Li Wang


Student Senators: Emma Atkinson,  Elle Barker, Andrew Black, Jackson Chambers,  Doug Chan,  Alicia De Leon,  Will Hoang,  Jillian Jensen, Grace Ku, Heather McElroy, Sara Nassof, Cory J. Nelson, Neela Pack, Eleni Schenk, Taylor Spendlove, Taylor Thompson, Jeffery Van Hulten, Molly Wheeler


Ex-officio: Robert Flores, Vivian Lee, Paul Mogren, James Metherall,  Dave Pershing, Chuck Wight, Amy Wildermuth, Shawnee Worsley


Others:  Ann Floor


Excused: Joanna Bettmann, Margaret Clayton, Ronald Coleman, Bruce Gale, Patricia Murphy, Rachel Nardo


Absent without Proxy: Reaz Chaudhuri, Leslie Francis, Martin Horvath, Anne Mooney, Chris Peterson, Brenda Vanderwiel, Angela Yetman


Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the Academic Senate meeting on August 29, 2011, were approved following a motion from Kim Martinez which was seconded by Neela Pack.


Request for New Business

(See new business items below.)


Consent Calendar

The resignations retirements, faculty appointments, auxiliary and limited term appointments, appearing in the Appendices dated October 3, 2011, received approval to forward to the Board of Trustees as moved by Steve Alder and seconded by Joan Gregory.


Executive Committee Report

Robert Fujinami, Executive Committee Secretary, provided a summary of the Executive Committee meetings held on September 19, 2011


Report from Administration

Vice President Pershing reported student enrollment is up 850 students from last year. This increase is the biggest in undergraduate level at 24,639 students. The University is not capping enrollment but the admission standards will be increasing to ensure student success. The U is asking from the legislature enrollment growth funding as well as $50 million for critically-needed infrastructure repairs.


In response to the criticism from the faculty regarding the cancelling of classes due to the first home football game, Pershing advised the senators are preparing guidelines for the administration to consider when cancelling classes due to non-emergency situations.   The Presidential Search Position Profile that identifies what the U is looking for in a new president is available online at www.presidentialsearch.utah.edu.


Report from ASUU

Neela Pack, ASUU President, reported to the Senate.


Notice of Intent

Two university policies, policy 5-200 Leaves of Absence and Policy 5-403, were present to the Senate by Tom Loveridge. Senators voted to send the policies back to the Executive Committee for clarification on the wording of the policy.


Debate Calendar

The proposal for a Major in Peace and Conflict Studies will be moved to next month’s agenda.


Jim Metherall presented with Robert Payne and Ben Tanner on the proposed new Rule R1-007A


Information Calendar

The following Graduate Council reviews were unanimously passed: Department of Atmospheric Science, Department of Geology & Geophysics, Division of Occupational Therapy, Department of Oncological Sciences, Department of Psychology, School of Computing, Department of Metallurgical Engineering, and Department of Philosophy.


Six proposed Human Resource Policies for Staff, which were deemed by the Executive Committee not to affect faculty or any academic issues at the University, were passed unanimously.


Report from Executive Committee on Campus Closures


New Business

Michael Goodman present to the Senate for the election for a replacement on the Executive Committee. There are three nominations; this will provide two alternatives to the Executive Committee if a member will be unable to serve. After the votes were totaled, Sonia Salari was named to the Executive Committee with Gary Grikscheit and Chris Myers as alternatives.





The meeting adjourned at 4:41 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,

Shawnee Worsley